Day 64 – Sometimes the Change Comes From the Knowing

Put simply, over the last few years I have thought I’ve been going mad. I think those around me have agreed, or alternatively just thought I was a hypochondriac. My health has been suffering in ways that keep compounding, and no matter what I do, I seem to be on a see-saw between feeling at ease and feeling dis-ease in my body.

I have seen numerous doctors and, so far, none of them have put my full range of seemingly unrelated symptoms into one bundle. In the meantime I have been given various other diagnoses, and received very little help. I have felt as though few people have taken seriously my health concerns, and have stopped talking about them for fear of sounding like a whinger.

My gut told me there was more to my story and, after a little of my own digging I have found the answer, finally – one condition that encompasses all of my complaints, and their exacerbation of the years.

Now, normally, I am wary of diagnoses. This time, however, knowing what is wrong has provided me with an immense freedom. I realise I am not losing my marbles, and no longer doubt my own experiences. I can manage my health better, knowing the best way to do that, and how to utilise yoga to help me on my journey. I know what to look out for and what to hare with others so that they can better support me. Also I see more than ever the many and varied ways I need to put myself first. So, the knowing has immediately taught me kindness, forgiveness, love and acceptance – for myself. Imagine, one thing that explains everything!

As I say to my students regularly, know what you are dealing with. It is the starting point for knowing how best to help yourself, and, in my case, change my whole perception and understanding… Of me. Today is a new day 1 of sorts. And the relief makes me cry!

20130318-151400.jpg

Leave a comment